19 days to go…

…to a new life. InsyaAllah.

To a life of companionship. To a life of responsibilities and decisions. To a life of ongoing discussions, communication and tolerance. To a life of trust, respect and loyalty. To a life of ups and downs, happiness and sadness, anger and hurt, smiles and grievances, everything and anything. All things to be experienced together, with another person. Right now a stranger, going to be a part of me.

No more being alone, no more thinking just of myself and no more just me-time to be considered. Me-time is just a portion of a whole side called us-time.

To a life of love. InsyaAllah.

I am by nature a hopeless romantic and an idealist. My view somehow has always been glass-and-peachy-tinted. I have worried about things in my circle of concern. I am working on increasing my circle of influence and reducing my circle of concern – things that I don’t have full control on. I have been warned and cautioned by well-meaning good friends and relatives that it’s not going to be all beds of roses. And he is treating me realistically. I am sharing his worries and problems, and he mine. I am under no illusion that life is going to be easy.

But it’s going to be a real and different life from right now. And if navigated fairly and according to the Deen, InsyaAllah it’s going to be a better life. I trust that, completely. InsyaAllah.

May Allah carry me and him all steps of the way, and may we stay on His path until the end. Please pray for us. Ameen.

Leave a Reply

